Author’s Introduction

india calcutta bookstore

india calcutta bookstore (Photo credit: FriskoDude)

Who am I?

What do I stand for?  What are my beliefs?

Why do I care so much?

I am a social activist at heart, hence I started this blog. My sole purpose is to educated the masses in order to bring positive changes to the three branches of the Indian government – the Executive, Legislative & Judicial.

I believe in keeping an open mind, so that I may learn to appreciate various points of view. I do not believe in “my way or the highway” because it is counter-productive.

A free society is only possible if we learn to respect the views, opinions & thoughts of our fellow countrymen/women, without using disparaging remarks, threats of bodily harm and the acts of outright violence and intimidation. Violence, threats, torture, killing, murder, rape, pouring acid (“acid attacks“) etc. are some of the popular tools used by the criminals-turned-politicians & by many others in India to suppress dissent or counter-points/views  in India. This has been the case for times immemorial and we as a nation are told to put up with it.

Why should we tolerate those who do not respect the law of the land? Is the law only for the elite and powerful people in India? Why should the ordinary Indian citizen who earns a honest living and struggles to make ends meet be subjected to such state sponsored brutality? Yes, I used the term “state sponsored brutality” because it is the Republic itself through it’s elected officials carries out such attacks? The Indian government is notoriously famous for meting out “collective punishment”.

Are we not a Constitutional democracy which affords all citizens the Equal Protection of the law and the Right to be heard?

We as a rich ancient civilization, have forgotten many golden rules of civility.

I sincerely wish to bring a positive change to the Indian society in general. This can be be achieved through dialogue, sharing of ideas, opinions, suggestions & thoughts and a burning desire to see India free from the shackles of illiteracy, poverty & political oppression.

I am a firm believer in Free Constitutional Democracies, which affords it’s citizens the fundamental freedom that every human being on our planet must have. A person must be free to chose what he/she thinks, reads, or writes. Freedom of movement & assembly, freedom to follow his religion or beliefs, freedom to criticize the government openly and freely, without worrying about government retribution or punishment.

WE must stand united if we want to secure India’s future. Would you please join me?

Thank you

Author:  https://thelargestdemocracy.wordpress.com/

Interesting articles

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

9 thoughts on “Author’s Introduction

  1. Sharmishtha Basu October 11, 2012 at 9:41 PM Reply

    May your fight spread throughout the country.

    • theLargestDemocracy.wordpress.com October 15, 2012 at 5:47 PM Reply

      Thank you very much. “From your lips to God’s ears”. ~ author of http://www.thelargestdemocracy.wordpress.com

    • theLargestDemocracy.wordpress.com November 1, 2012 at 6:47 PM Reply

      Dear Sharmishtha

      Thank you for your words of support and encouragement. In response to your wishes, I can only say “from your lips to God’s ears”.

      As one can only lead the horse to the water, but cannot make him drink it. So can I only make an earnest effort to educate the masses, the intellectually blind and those who feign ignorance to further their own agendas.

      Hoping against all hope, I pray that India and its people realize the dangers to their Constitution and their freedoms guaranteed by it.

      Thanks once again for your support and do feel free to share your views, suggestions and criticism as you deem fit.

      • Sharmishtha Basu November 2, 2012 at 1:34 AM Reply

        i too harbour and cherish your desires. if we educated people try to spread awareness, sooner or later we may succeed.

        • theLargestDemocracy.wordpress.com November 17, 2012 at 8:17 PM Reply

          I hope the sooner the better, the masses of India have suffered for far too long.

          The greatest charity in world is the charity of education and charity of food.

          Best wishes
          author

  2. vitamin August 22, 2012 at 10:07 AM Reply

    I admired your rich writing. good work. I hope you write many. I will carry on reading

  3. llandudno B&B July 26, 2012 at 5:24 PM Reply

    Good Morning, I just stopped by to visit your blog and thought I’d say thank you.

  4. notropics July 24, 2012 at 11:36 PM Reply

    I like your rich article. good work. I hope you release more. I will carry on reading

  5. vitamin July 22, 2012 at 6:32 PM Reply

    salutations from across the ocean. precise blog I must return for more.

Leave a comment