To:The Honorable Preside…

To:
The Honorable President of India
The Honorable Prime Minister of India
New Delhi, India

In response to the Orwellian steps taken by the present government to curb freedom of speech and expression, which is a Constitutional right of every Indian. This law or proposition of such a law violates the Constitutionally protected fundamental right of every citizen of India.

I vehemently oppose such a law on Constitutional grounds and in the name of my beloved country. These Orwellian laws are in violation of every citizens human right to feel free to express himself or herself, without fear of punishment or reprisals from the government.

Dissent is the very basis of a democracy. May I remind you that our late Prime Minister Mrs. Indira Gandhi felt the need to curb political dissent and she achieved the same by declaring a state of emergency in India. This declaration was an effective tool for her to stay in power.

The Indian Emergency of 26 June 1975 – 21 March 1977 which lasted for a 21 month period, when President Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed, upon advice by Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, declared a state of emergency under Article 352 of the Constitution of India, effectively bestowing on him the power to rule by decree, suspending elections and civil liberties. Mr. Alok Narayan, a well-known scholar of law, called it one of India’s “blackest hours”.

The 42nd Amendment, which brought about extensive changes to the letter and spirit of the Constitution of India, is one of the lasting legacies of the Emergency. One of the consequences of the Emergency era was that the Supreme Court of India ordered that, although the Constitution is subject to amendment (as used by Indira), changes that are ultra vires to its basic structure cannot be made by the Parliament of India.

I am compelled to say “Free speech, is a fundamental human right and I shall have it and exercise it whenever, where ever I feel do so at any and all cost. Even if it brings death to me”. – Author’s blog address https://thelargestdemocracy.wordpress.com/

“Free speech, is a fundamental human right and I shall have it and exercise it whenever, and  where ever I please to do so.

I will NOT adhere to any law that infringes upon my Constitutional right to question any authority or those who hold higher offices, this I shall continue to do so as a citizen of India at any and all cost. No force on earth can stop me from speaking my mind.

No force on earth can stop me from questioning or speaking against the unjust laws or the social injustices that I and many others experience in India on a daily basis.

I am free from the shackles of intimidation and death. May God grant me HIS wisdom and strength to fight this battle against wolves in sheep clothing”.  

Author’s blog address https://thelargestdemocracy.wordpress.com/

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

